Why run for president?

 

This article makes some good points. I disagree personally about the bit that ‘president’, seeming such a male office, is intimidating to women because they think they won’t have much of a chance to win. However, that may be true for some. For me personally, I wouldn’t want to be president because I think it’s immensely stressful and also awful for any one person to be so much in the spotlight. I want a more peaceful lifestyle for myself. I know that there are men who feel that way, too.

I think the article makes an excellent point that I was already planning to write about; that maybe there just aren’t that many women seeking public office. To get more women in positions of authority, maybe we need more candidates. I personally have no clue what could accomplish that goal, what could encourage women toward that end. Do you? Are you a woman interested in politics? Make a comment.

I have a few clues about what isn’t helping, though. There are enough women focusing on makeup and beauty alone that multiple youtube ‘vloggers’ make a living in the multi-millions from posting their makeup and hair tutorials.

I wish them no ill whatsoever. I personally find their makeup tutorials helpful when I choose to wear makeup. What I’m saying is that a lot of women are spending a LOT of time and money and FOCUS on their image. Not their minds, ambitions, or working for change in the world. Are you personally willing to shift those priorities for yourself? Do you know how much time out of any given day you spend on image? And more importantly, how much you spend developing your mind or working for positive change in the world?

I think the condition of focusing on image has a lot to do with how people are brought up, pressures faced at school and in the workplace, and media consumption. These ways of living are ingrained. But the solutions are at our fingertips and EVERY positive change makes a positive impact. Do what you can, today, right now. And then when it’s ‘right now’ again, do what you can then, too.

Share your positive actions here! As a community we need to support one another.

Leave a Reply

