Women are so cool.

Some articles that appeal to me:

26, Unmarried, and Childless : Hear hear! I am doing awesome things, too! This article rocks my socks. There are other women out there like myself. I would love to be married and holding my kids in my arms by now, that would be great. But other wonderful, necessary, important things are actually happening Right Now. Personally, I try to live in reality, not regret nor fantasy.

Jesus Feminist : Jesus treated women as his equals, forgave wrongs done by women and by men, and had female as well as male friends. I am worthy just because I am (and so are you!), and that worth is entirely independent of any relationships or personal qualities or achievements. I am wonderful and I do my best to live in a way that supports values of love, honesty, faith, peace, and integrity. I especially love the following quote:

“So the Kingdom of God stands in sharp contrast to the ways of the world. The church has not always stood in sharp contrast. Yet the Kingdom of God is bigger even than the Church’s failures and successes, disappointments and triumphs. As the people of God, we proclaim and we dare to live out the truth for us all: you are valuable, you are free, you are loved.”

And finally, writings of the funny brilliant genius who used to be my neighbor before she moved halfway across the country.

Women are pretty amazingly radically mind-bendingly life-alteringly cool, aren’t we!

Notice how not-a-question that statement was. I’m feeling good about being so cool.

 “I know it’s important to be honest; to honour the stories of hurt and pain, but it is just as important to tell and hear the good stories of the people of God.  I believe we can be critical thinkers without a critical spirit.”  ~Sarah Bessey, ‘Jesus Feminist’

Leave a Reply

