Small Things with Great Love

“We can do no great things; only small things with great love.”

This quote is resonating with me today, so I’ve decided to do a post on Mother Teresa. She is certainly one of my heroes and if she were American, she would have been featured in my ‘Inspiring All-American Women‘ post. Today I had a plane ticket to visit a relative who is in delicate health. I woke up with a sore throat and have been around three people this week who proclaimed they were sick, two of whom had fever the previous week. I made a choice this morning to stay home. A very small thing to do, perhaps, but with great love. My goal is to protect my great-uncle’s health. I still hope to visit when I’m certain I’m well. (And I’m going back to sleep in a few minutes…)

Mother Teresa spent the majority of her life in service to the poor, ill, diseased, and dying. She dressed wounds, prayed with the people, hugged them and held them as they died, and was an advocate for peace to world leaders as well. She was no greater than you or I. Mother Teresa understood the cumulative kindness in daily actions that can heal hearts and souls. She gave with love, constantly.

Everyday we have choices. Today I can choose to show my strength, my power of choice, my voice for peace, by doing simple things. Anyone who takes part in a movement for change can choose to put aside our own ego and continually do small things that promote the ideals of our movement. Sometimes it’s the most subtle among us who are the most visible, anyway. Do everything with love, today. See what a change you make.

Leave a Reply

