Positivity

As I posted most recently, writing this blog has challenged and thereby strengthened my ability to think positive.

From the very start, my goal was that this would not be a rant-blog, because reading those tends to make me feel depressed (if I read them, which is increasingly rare). My aim is that my readers will feel positive about feminism.

Ways to think positive:

  • Focus on what works, and benefits your goal. Encourage successes to replicate. Seek the positive at every turn.
  • When you get bogged down by something negative, flip it. Look for a solution to the trouble. Appreciate the silver lining of the dark cloud, or even the rainbow.
  • Notice what is working for other people. Incorporate effective tactics into your own work without plagiarizing.
  • Write a draft, then walk away from it for a few days, regardless of how passionately you feel about it. Come back when you’re calm. This helps especially when the goal is to maintain neutrality on controversial topics.
  • Stuck with ‘writers block’? Do something you absolutely love, which nourishes you. Forget about writing, for awhile. Sooner or later, you’ll be brimming with ideas.
  • Support other people in your same movement (or line of work, etc). It’s rough going-it-alone. Many people find a boost in knowing their work is appreciated, and providing that boost will help you feel better about the cause and your work within it.

Sharing what I’ve learned is the best way I’ve found of seeing what I’ve learned. I’m feeling good about learning from positive experience.

4 thoughts on “Positivity

  1. “Write a draft, then walk away from it for a few days, regardless of how you feel. Come back when you’re calm. This helps especially when the goal is to maintain neutrality on controversial topics.”

    I realized just yesterday that it would be who of me to do this! Posts about topics you feel passionately about can be exhausting even if they’re not rants… sometimes especially if they’re not rants. XD

Leave a Reply

