Complaining about body size- gets us nowhere.

Mia:

‘Broadside’ talks about the distraction that is focusing on women’s weight. An important post from an excellent writer. We have more important issues to be concerned with.

Honestly, I don’t think about my weight from one day to the next. I don’t weigh myself (other than on Thanksgiving to see how much food I ate, because I have a scientific curiosity about how much it’s possible to eat). I eat healthily on a regular basis, yes with cookies and chips occasionally thrown in. I eat hummus, spinach, beef, chicken, hemp milk, blueberries, apples, oranges, eggs with cheese, oatmeal, and many other things. I want to see how these foods affect my level of energy and happiness. I take a multi-vitamin so I can be awake and alert. I avoid coffee, alcohol, cigarettes, and other toxins which can cause bodily imbalances.

I am really grateful not to be concerned with weight. I don’t watch it. I move around. I do things I love. I relieve stress. I avoid watching t.v. and I try to limit how much time I spend on the computer.

I am interested in women’s rights and promoting them. I care about art, design, feng shui, photography, animals, nature, the environment, human rights. My family is vitally important to me. I am an intelligent person with many gifts, and much to offer humanity within the course of my lifetime. I am feeling good about staying focused on what matters!

Originally posted on Broadside:

What scientists call "Overweight" ch...

What scientists call “Overweight” changes with our knowledge of human health (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am going to lose it completely.

Some of you read Kristen Lamb, who writes a blog about writing. It’s extremely popular and usually very helpful. But her latest post was a digression – an extended piece about being a size 10/12 and why she feels fat:

I am healthy, have beautiful skin and hair. I have enough energy to power a small city and am never sick, but I am still a size 10-12 and 170 pounds.

Why is it no one looks like me?

When we look on TV, we are confronted with extremes–super skinny or clinically obese. We are calling anorexics “beautiful” and calling dangerously obese women “curvy.” We are an a country that is dying because of euphemisms. I hear parents call morbidly obese children “husky,” “big-boned” or “muscular.” We have retailers…

View original 625 more words

One thought on “Complaining about body size- gets us nowhere.

  1. “I am an intelligent person with many gifts, and much to offer humanity within the course of my lifetime. I am feeling good about staying focused on what matters!”

    I hear that!

Leave a Reply

